In The News

Dr. Nawal Nour profiled by International Women's Forum

Dr. Nawal Nour, Director of the African Women's Health Center at Brigham and Women's Hospital, was profiled by the International Women's Forum in March 2017.  You can read the article here.

Dr. Nawal Nour, Director of the African Women's Health Center at Brigham and Women's Hospital is profiled by the International Women's Forum in March 2017. You can read the article here.

2017 ACOG Mentor Award

Dr. Katie Gray, received the 2017 ACOG Mentor Award for District I. This award was established on May 2009 and is given to an ACOG Fellow, who has actively mentored a young physician or a junior fellow.

2017 MGH PCE Resident Teaching Award in Obstetrics & Gynecology

Dr. Beryl Manning-Geist (Class of 2020) and Samsiya Ona (Class of 2019) were awarded a 2017 MGH PCE Resident Teaching Award in Obstetrics & Gynecology. The Harvard Medical Students in the Principal Clinical Experience at Massachusetts General Hospital in each core clerkship vote on who have contributed the most to their education over the course of the year.


2017 Humanitarian and Volunteerism Award

Dr. Annekathryn Goodman was the 2017 recipient of the Society of Gynecologic Oncology’s Humanitarian and Volunteerism Award, which is awarded to an individual for his/her exemplary local, national or international volunteer and outreach efforts in women’s cancer care, research or training.  For more than 30 years Dr. Goodman has worked to improve gynecologic care abroad.  Since 2008 she has been consulting in Bangladesh on cervical cancer prevention and the development of medical infrastructure to care for women wiht gynecologic cancers.

New Publication

Dr. Paula Brady (Class of 2015) has a new textbook published. It is titled "Handbook of Consult and Inpatient Gynecology"


Reveal of Dr. Barbieri Portrait

In September, the portrait of the BWH Chair, Dr. Robert Barbieri was revealed. The portrait is currently hanging in the BWH Swift Library if you’re in the area and would like to view it in person. Eventually this portrait will be hung in the Bornstein Auditorium along with all distinguished Department Chairs.

BWPO Awards

The Brigham and Women’s Physician Organization awarded two of our ob/gyn physicians with awards. You can read more about the awards here and here.

Dr. Susan Schilling (Class of 1991) received the Patient and Family-Centered Care Award. This award is given to the physician who go ‘above and beyond expectations’ in providing compassionate, patient and family-centered care.


Dr. Donald P. Goldstein (Class of 1963) was honored for his 55 years of service to BWH and he also received the Senior Distinguished Clinician Award. This award is given to a physician who has demonstrated longstanding, exceptional commitment to their colleagues and patients.

Recent awards presented to residents

  • Dr. Gianna Wilkie (Class of 2020) was elected Vice President of the Junior Fellows Massachusetts Chapter of ACOG;
  • Dr. Kartik Venkatesh (Class of 2017) won the award for best resident poster at the MGH Clinical Research Day;
  • Dr. Kathryn Barletta (Class of 2018) was awarded a American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS) Scholar award to attend the 2016 AUGS annual meeting.

2016 Meeting of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine

Residents showcased their research at 2016 American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) meeting, October 15-19, 2016, Salt Lake City Utah. Six residents attended the ASRM meeting. Current residents were lead authors for 6 poster presentations and one oral presentation; they and multiple past residents also contributed to other presentations. Dr. Dan Kaser, resident alum (Class of 2013 and BWH REI Class of 2016), won the ASRM prize paper for his oral presentation, "Randomized Controlled Trial of Low vs Ultralow Oxygen Tension for In Vitro Development in Human Embryos". Malinda Lee (Class of 2017) attended ASRM through an ASRM In-Training Travel Award, and Iris Insogna, Caitlin Sacha, and Jenna Turocy (all Class of 2018) all attended as Resident Reporters.

Dr. Venkatesh named Quilligan Scholar

We are pleased to announce that Class of 2017 chief resident, Kartik Venkatesh, MD, PhD, was named one of five 2016 Quilligan Scholars by the Pregnancy Foundation, a part of the Society for Maternal and Fetal Medicine (SMFM).

The Quilligan Scholars Program aims to identify promising residents who have the potential to be leaders in the field of maternal-fetal medicine. Through the program, scholars are offered mentoring and educational opportunities for two years. These opportunities are provided by the SMFM, which advances care in pregnancy by funding research scholarships and global initiatives, offering clinical assistance and providing mentorship for the next generation of doctors and scientists involved in women’s health.

Dr. Venkatesh’s work has involved anti-depression treatment and preterm births, postpartum depression in adolescent mothers and the progression of HIV/AIDS treatment in resource-limited settings in India.

Other alumni who have received this honor include Dr. Mark Clapp in 2015 and Dr. Sarah Rae Easter in 2014.

Addressing Inequities in Pregnancy Care and Childbirth in Chiapas, Mexico

Dr. Rose Molina (Class of 2015) wrote an article about her work with a demonstration project that aims to increase facility-based births in an existing maternal center while promoting quality, respectful maternity care in Chiapas, Mexico. Read more at the BWH Global Health Hub.

BWH CFDD Pillar Awards

We had numerous faculty members receive the 2016 and 2015 BWH CFDD Pillar Awards.


  • Dr. Joan Bengtson (Class of 1985) – Clinical Teacher Award
  • Dr. Ross Berkowitz (Class of 1978) – Senior Faculty Mentor Award
  • Dr. Alisa Goldberg (Class of 1998) – Educational Program Leadership Award
  • Dr. Karin Michels – Research Collaboration Award
  • Dr. Nicole Smith (Class of 2006) – Junior Faculty Mentor Award


  • Dr. Ray Reilly – Clinical Teacher Award
  • Dr. Khady Diouf (Class of 2009) – Junior Faculty Mentor Award
  • Dr. Cynthia Morton – Research Leadership Award
  • Dr. Ruth Tuomala (Class of 1980)– Educational Program Leadership Award

Dr. Ecker becomes chief of MGH Ob/Gyn

Dr. Jeffrey L. Ecker, graduating class of 1992, accepted the role of Chief of the MGH Obstetrics and Gynecology Department in January of 2016. Please see our Alumni section to read an interview with Dr. Ecker.

Project aims to improve care in the ‘4th trimester’

Dr. Alison Stuebe, graduating class of 2005, was prominently cited in an article entitled “Project Aims to Improve Care in the ‘4th trimester’” in Ob.Gyn. News.

Dr. Rebecca Luckett, COE in Global and Humanitarian Health Travel Grant Recipient

Dr. Rebecca Luckett , graduating class of 2015, was interviewed about her involvement with global health. She also discussed her work with Dr. Joan Bengtson, Associate Program Director, that took place during a week-long surgical mission to Haiti. Read more at Partners Healthcare Graduate Medical Education.

Treating Pregnant Women for Depression May Benefit Baby, Too

Dr. Kartik Venkatesh, class of 2017, was the lead author of an article titled “Association of Antenatal Depression Symptoms and Antidepressant Treatment with Preterm Birth in the Green Journal. It was also referenced in the New York Times.